Hypotenuse AI skipped the general-purpose-writer war and built for one workflow: e-commerce product content, with AI images attached. That focus shapes the pricing. There are four paid tiers, the top tier costs nearly eight times the entry tier, and what you actually pay depends as much on your billing period as on which tier you pick. We use Hypotenuse in our 30-day hands-on testing, so the numbers below are paired with what the tool really costs in editing time.
Hypotenuse AI Pricing in 2026: The Full Tier Structure
Two variables drive your bill, and they behave very differently. The billing period is a straight discount: annual billing is cheaper than monthly on every tier where we could verify both numbers. The tier ladder is a step function — the entry plan at $29/mo and the top plan at $230/mo are the same product with different volume ceilings.
Most e-commerce sellers buy too much tier and the wrong billing period. If your output is modest, the tier decision is the one that costs you money; if your output is large, the billing period is.
Every Hypotenuse Tier, Priced by Billing Period
| Tier | Monthly billing | Annual billing (effective monthly) | Annual discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter (also listed as Entry) | $29/mo | about $19/mo | roughly a third cheaper |
| Growth | $59/mo | not stated in our sources | could not verify |
| Essential | $87/mo | about $56/mo | roughly a third cheaper |
| Blog Pro | $230/mo | not stated in our sources | could not verify |
Prices checked September 2026. The annual column is the effective monthly rate on a twelve-month commitment, paid up front. We could not verify a distinct annual rate for Growth or Blog Pro as of September 2026, so do not assume the same discount applies across the ladder.
One caveat applies to every number here: subscription content tools rename and re-price tiers without much notice. Treat the table as a September 2026 snapshot and confirm current figures before committing to an annual plan.
There Is No Permanent Free Plan — Only a Trial
This is where Hypotenuse differs most from its neighbours. Tools such as Rytr keep an ongoing free tier (10,000 characters a month) that lets you work indefinitely at low volume. Hypotenuse does not — access is time-boxed, and when the trial ends you either subscribe or lose the workspace.
Hypotenuse has listed a 7-day trial, but we could not independently verify the trial length or the word allowance attached to it as of September 2026. If the window really is seven days, use it deliberately: run your real product data through it in the first two days rather than spending the week on the interface tour. The trial is the only zero-cost window you get, and the only sensible time to test whether the workflow fits before you choose a billing period.
Why this changes the buying decision
With no free tier, there is no "use it until I outgrow it" path. Every month of access is a paid month, so the entry tier's suitability matters more than the entry tier's price.
Why Annual Billing Is Where the Discount Lives
Hypotenuse's monthly and annual prices are far enough apart that the billing period is effectively a second pricing decision sitting on top of the tier choice.
- Entry tier: $29/mo monthly versus about $19/mo annually — roughly 34% less.
- Essential: $87/mo monthly versus about $56/mo annually — roughly 36% less.
- Twelve-month totals at the entry tier: about $348 paying monthly versus about $228 paying annually, a difference of about $120 in the first year.
That $120 is larger than the gap between several competing tools' entry plans, so it is not a rounding error. The trade-off is commitment: annual billing turns a flexible monthly cost into a sunk one. The sequencing that avoids that risk is obvious but frequently skipped — run the trial first, then pick the billing period with trial data in hand.
Word Limits and Overage Charges
Hypotenuse's caps are where the pricing gets genuinely uncertain, and we are going to state the uncertainty rather than resolve it. Sources conflict on the entry tier's monthly allowance:
- Some sources list 25,000 words per month on the entry tier.
- Others list 50,000 words per month on the same tier.
- We could not verify which figure is current as of September 2026.
That is a factor-of-two disagreement on the single number that decides whether the entry tier is good value. Treat any confident claim about Hypotenuse's word allowance — including ours — with suspicion until the vendor confirms it in writing.
Exceeding the cap is the other half of the picture. Based on the sources we reviewed, going over your monthly allowance produces overage charges rather than a hard stop, so the bill can grow past the sticker price. We could not verify the per-word overage rate as of September 2026. Combined with the disputed cap, that makes overage the least predictable line on a Hypotenuse invoice — you cannot calculate your worst-case month without a number the public sources do not agree on.
What we could not verify as of September 2026
- Whether the entry-tier word cap is 25,000 or 50,000 words per month.
- The per-word overage rate once a cap is exceeded.
- The trial length and the word allowance inside the trial.
- Distinct annual rates for the Growth and Blog Pro tiers.
Cost per 1,000 Words at Each Tier
The most useful pricing metric for a content tool is not the subscription price but the cost per 1,000 words generated, because that is what you compare against a freelancer, an agency, or a different tool. Here is what the published numbers allow us to compute.
| Tier | Annual price (effective monthly) | Word cap in our sources | Cost per 1,000 words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | about $19/mo | 25,000 or 50,000 | $0.38 – $0.76 |
| Growth | $59/mo (monthly billing only in our sources) | not stated | could not compute |
| Essential | about $56/mo | not stated | could not compute |
| Blog Pro | $230/mo (monthly billing only in our sources) | not stated | could not compute |
The arithmetic for the entry tier is straightforward: about $19 a month divided by 25,000 words is roughly $0.76 per 1,000 words, and the same $19 divided by 50,000 words is roughly $0.38. On monthly billing the equivalent figures are about $1.16 and about $0.58. Cost per word is therefore cheaper on the annual plan — the opposite of the intuition that monthly is the cautious choice, since caution costs about 65% more per word here.
For the three higher tiers we cannot produce a per-word figure, because the calculation needs both a price and a cap and our sources gave us only the price. That means the entry tier is the one Hypotenuse plan whose value can be checked against a competitor like for like; the higher tiers have to be justified on workflow features instead.
Which Tier Is Worth It at Your Monthly Volume
Sizing the tier comes down to one question: how many words a month do you actually produce? The table below is our judgement rather than vendor documentation — only the entry tier has a published cap in the sources we could verify, and those sources disagree about it.
| Your monthly output | Tier that makes sense | Reasoning |
|---|---|---|
| Under 25,000 words | Starter on annual billing (about $19/mo) | Cheapest way in. Every higher tier adds headroom you would not use. |
| 25,000 to 50,000 words | Starter, but confirm the cap first | Inside the disputed range — the answer flips depending on whether the cap is 25,000 or 50,000. |
| 50,000 to 150,000 words | Growth ($59/mo) | More predictable than paying overage on Starter at a rate we could not verify. |
| Multi-brand or agency output | Essential (about $56/mo annual) | The middle tier between Growth and the top of the ladder. |
| Committed high-volume publishing | Blog Pro ($230/mo) | Nearly 8x the entry tier — only defensible against a serious, sustained content budget. |
Read the middle rows as a framework for the questions to put to Hypotenuse rather than as a specification. The decisive threshold is not a word count at all: it is whether you would otherwise pay for a second tool. Hypotenuse bundles product copy and AI image generation into one subscription, so if you already pay for a standalone image generator the bundle is partly redundant. If you do not, that combined workflow is where the value sits.
The Cost the Pricing Table Does Not Show: Your Editing Time
Subscription price is the visible cost of an AI writing tool. Editing time is the larger one, and it is the reason a cheaper tier is not automatically the cheaper tool. In our 30-day blind benchmark, Hypotenuse averaged 14 minutes of editing per 1,500-word piece, against 8 minutes for Claude and Jasper and 10 minutes for ChatGPT. We do not adjust that number — it is the measured result.
Put a rate on it and the gap becomes concrete. At an assumed $40 per hour of your time, 14 minutes of editing costs about $9.33 per piece against about $5.33 for 8 minutes — roughly $4 more per piece. Publish 20 pieces a month and that is about $80 of extra editing labour, more than the entry-tier subscription itself.
The pricing lesson
Hypotenuse's subscription at about $19/mo on annual billing is not the number that decides whether it is worth it. Total cost is subscription plus editing time, and editing time is the bigger line for most users.
Hypotenuse vs the Tools It Competes With on Price
| Tool | Entry price (billing period) | What that buys | Where to read more |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hypotenuse | $29/mo monthly, about $19/mo annually | Product descriptions, AI images, bulk catalog copy | This page |
| Jasper | Creator $49/mo monthly, $39/mo annually | Brand voice control and campaign copy for teams | Jasper pricing |
| Copy.ai | Chat $29/mo monthly, $24/mo annually | Go-to-market workflow automation | Copy.ai review |
| ChatGPT | Plus $20/mo monthly | General-purpose writing with no bulk catalog workflow | Benchmark data |
| Claude | Pro $20/mo monthly, about $17/mo annually ($200/year) | Long-form prose; fastest editing time in our test | Claude pricing |
| Writesonic | Starter $79/mo on annual billing, about $99/mo monthly | Native SEO scoring and AI search visibility | Writesonic pricing |
| Rytr | Unlimited $9/mo monthly, $7.50/mo annually | Short-form drafts at low volume; we do not recommend it for long-form | Rytr pricing |
Hypotenuse at about $19/mo annually sits below Jasper's Creator plan, below Copy.ai's annual Chat rate, and just under ChatGPT Plus and Claude Pro at $20/mo. Hypotenuse is therefore not expensive in absolute terms so much as narrow: you pay a general-writer price for an e-commerce specialist. If product copy and product images are your actual workload, that is a fair trade. If you also need blog posts and long-form prose, you are buying a second tool regardless of tier.
How to Decide in Five Minutes
- Start the trial and use your real catalog. Feed it your own product data in the first two days rather than evaluating templates with sample text.
- Count the words you generated. That number, not the feature list, picks your row in the volume table above.
- Ask Hypotenuse for the current entry-tier cap in writing. The 25,000 versus 50,000 disagreement is only resolvable by the vendor, and it changes the answer.
- Ask for the overage rate at the same time. If the cap is disputed, your worst-case month depends on a number that is not published.
- Choose the billing period last. Annual billing saves roughly a third, but only commit to it once the trial has confirmed that the workflow fits your catalog.
Compare it against a $20 general writer
Run the Hypotenuse trial, then price the same month against ChatGPT Plus or Claude Pro at $20/mo before you commit to an annual plan.
Try Hypotenuse →Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Hypotenuse AI cost?
The entry tier is $29/mo on monthly billing or about $19/mo if you pay annually. Growth is $59/mo, Essential is $87/mo (about $56/mo annually) and Blog Pro is $230/mo. There is no permanent free plan.
Does Hypotenuse AI have a free plan?
No. Hypotenuse offers a trial rather than an ongoing free tier, so when the trial ends you either subscribe or lose access. We could not verify the trial length or its word allowance as of September 2026.
What is the Hypotenuse AI word limit?
Sources disagree on the entry tier: some list 25,000 words per month and others 50,000 words per month, and we could not verify which figure is current as of September 2026. Exceeding the cap triggers overage charges rather than a hard stop.
What happens if I go over the Hypotenuse word limit?
Based on the sources we reviewed you are charged overage rather than cut off. We could not verify the per-word overage rate as of September 2026, and because the entry-tier cap itself is disputed, overage is the least predictable line on the bill.
Is annual billing cheaper for Hypotenuse AI?
Yes. Annual billing is the only way to unlock the discount — roughly a third off on the entry tier, where $29/mo becomes about $19/mo, and on Essential, where $87/mo becomes about $56/mo. An annual entry plan costs about $228 versus about $348 across twelve monthly payments.
Is Hypotenuse AI worth the price?
For e-commerce sellers who want product copy and AI images in one workflow, the entry tier at about $19/mo on annual billing is defensible. For general writing, ChatGPT Plus and Claude Pro at $20/mo each cover more ground. Our 30-day blind test measured Hypotenuse at 14 minutes of editing per 1,500-word piece, so budget for editing time as well as subscription cost.